IPL 2020 Points table: Team Standings, Rankings, Net Run Rate (NRR) and More

IPL 2020 Points Table

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League will start on March 29, 2020. The IPL tournament features a total of 8 teams fighting for the IPL championship trophy. The first IPL T20 match will be played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. To win ipl 2020 championship, a team must first make its way into Top 4 of the IPL 2020 points table. The top four teams which qualify for the IPL playoff stages battle it out to enter the Indian Premier League 2020 final to have a chance at lifting the ipl t20 trophy. The eight teams participating in IPL 2020 include the Mumbai Indians (MI), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP),  Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Delhi Capitals (DC). The IPL Auction 2020 happened on December 19, 2020, and involved some expensive purchases by the franchises. The inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League was played in 2018 and founded by Lalit Modi. All the eight IPL teams would play a total of 60 matches in a period spanning for two months for the IPL trophy 2020. You can watch live streaming online as well as on TV channels and never miss the action.

The top 2 teams in the Indian Premier League 2020 points table have additional chances of qualifying for 2020 IPL final. The IPL playoffs would include Qualifier and the eliminator matches. The teams finishing in the top 2 positions in the final IPL points table standings would play in the IPL qualifier matches. The IPL team that wins the qualifier matches makes their way directly into the IPL 2020 final. On the other hand, the teams that finish 3rd and 4th in the IPL standings would play an eliminator match. The IPL 2020 eliminator winner then locks horns with the 2020 IPL qualifier winner. Hence, the teams finishing in the top 2 positions in the IPL standings would have two chances to qualify for the Indian Premier League final. 

 IPL 2020 Points Table, Team Standings, Teams and More

The Indian Premier League (IPL), probably the biggest cricket tournament in the world would commence from March 29, 2020. The IPL is controlled and monitored by the Board of Cricket Control in India(BCCI). Saurav Ganguly is the current president of BCCI. The IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world featuring both international(overseas) as well as a talent pool of Indian sub-continent. All the teams must perform consistently to stay atop the IPL points table. The IPL 2020 schedule has been announced by BCCI and the first IPL match 2020 will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) led by Rohit Sharma and Chennai Super Kings (CSK), captained by MS Dhoni. The IPL 2019 final was played between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, where MI edged over CSK by just one run. Lasith Malinga bowled the final over of the IPL 2019 thriller and won its fourth Vivo IPL championship.  Vivo IPL will be conducted in a round-robin league format, wherein each team will play a total of 14 matches that includes both the home as well as the away matches.

Indian Premier League 2020 Points Table Rules

The main motto of the teams competing in the IPL 2020 season is to finish in one of the top 4 positions in the Vivo IPL 2020 points table. Then the secondary goal would be to finish in the top 2 positions in the IPL standings. As mentioned earlier, finishing in the top 2 positions in the points table gives an extra edge over other teams as they get an extra opportunity to qualify for the finals. The final IPL standings are decided based on the number of points that each team accumulates in the IPL league stage. A team winning an IPL match gets 2 points, in case if the match is abandoned, or no result, both the teams would be awarded 1 point each. The losing team does not get any points or gets 0 points. 

In case, if any of the eight teams stand equal in terms of total points, then the focus shifts on the Net Run Rate (NRR). The NRR is calculated by dividing the number of runs scored by the team to the number of overs faced to the number of runs conceded by the team to the number of overs bowled by the team. 

Also Read: IPL 2020: 9 Players who might be Playing their Final IPL Season

Vivo IPL 2020 Points Table Interesting Facts

  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Deccan Chargers (DC) are the two teams who won the IPL trophy without topping the IPL points table. 
  • There are two teams with lowest points tally for any IPL season; Deccan Chargers (DC) and Delhi Capitals (DC) with 4 points. 
  • No IPL team has qualified to the playoff stages with the tally of fewer than 12 points in the IPL final standings.
  • Delhi Daredevils (DD) is the only team to have not won the IPL title even after finishing in the first position in the IPL points table twice.
  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK) led by MS Dhoni is the only team to qualify for the playoffs in every IPL season. 
  • Mumbai Indians (MI) are the most successful teams in the Indian premier league history having won four IPL titles.
  • MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the IPL title three times, followed by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) with two IPL titles, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers and Rajasthan Royals have won the Indian premier league titles once.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.